Image

50 Pounds Down…..

Losing 50 Pounds Was No Easy Feat….

There was a moment in time when I just had let my weight get out of control and I decided to get a grip and stop avoiding realities that were staring me in the face. I started working full time after my masters degree in social work was done, and of course,

1939948_10100856732203607_6097714997829960973_n

After Weight Loss (20 Pounds to Go!)

BEFORE (in the middle)

BEFORE (50 Pounds Heavier than Now!)

I let my clients and job run my life with little regard for my own personal welfare and health. In two years, I gained nearly 70 pounds….I always was average sized, active, and tall for my age so being so incredibly heavy was not fun. I avoided the scale like the plague and avoided all mirrors in sight while wearing legging constantly.

1010209_10100853755399147_2000918265_n

Now! Training for my First 1/2 Marathon!

At a point in life, many points in fact, you just need to take the plunge and recognize, realize, and deal with the issue at hand. This time it was my weight and health.

After breaking up with my first ‘serious’ relationship type boyfriend on my own accord, I decided that it was time for a drastic lifestyle change. I’m sort of a ‘dive all in’ or do nothing type of person…and in 8 months I dropped roughly 50 pounds, completed my first 5k and 5 mile run, and generally felt WAY better that I could fit into stylish clothes.

Here Were My Keys to Success:

  • Know that it’s going to be a lifelong lifestyle change. You cannot go back to eating constant crap once you have ‘lost the weight’ or it will come back.
  • Know that you need to check in with your emotions, out of control eating and weight gain is often a sign of an emotions going unrecognized and unchecked that you may not be aware of.
  • Weigh yourself multiple times weekly. Know that alcohol and eating out will up your weight, but also know that hiding from the scale does not hide pounds from showing up on your body.
  • I tracked my food on WW. Track your food and be honest about it, the only person you’re hurting when you lie is yourself. (This was tough for me, ‘I swear tracker, I only ate 7 oreos and not 17!)
  • Know that exercising WILL get better. If you stick with it long enough, you will actually WANT to exercise and feel lazy if you don’t.
  • Fruit and vegetables hold you over.
  • Stock your purse with snacks (currently in mine: a luna bar and 100 calorie almond packs)
  • Know that everyone is busy and that is not an excuse. I tell myself this all the time. EVERYONE is BUSY but healthy people are STILL working out. I work overnights in an emergency room, attend full time law school, have a puppy, a house, relationships, life….it would be so easy to just CHILL and QUIT but I remind myself the benefits of exercising far outweigh the consequences.
  • Know that desserts even taste better when you don’t let yourself have them all the time, they’re a treat!
  • Know that you don’t need to deprive yourself. Just keep in your house portion sizes of treats instead of a whole bag.
  • Know that you’ll need a crisis plan. This weekend I started digging into leftover cheesecake in a drunken state with my fingers. I then poured dish soap on it and took it to the dumpster.
  • Know that people around you will be eating whatever they want, but you need to have a plan.

My weight loss has been stalled since law school started in September. No loss and a potential couple pound gain. But I’ve lost 50 pounds all together, and I intend to keep it off. Slow and steady wins the race! I’m hoping 1/2 marathon, and then next year marathon training combined with focusing on eating for training helps me lose the rest!

My Next Weight Loss Tasks: Figure out how to not emotional eat, as well as not to eat socially at so many network events (stuffing jumbo shrimp and glasses of wine down isn’t good for the tummy). Luckily, my fitness is at an all time high (boxing 1-2x per week, and running 3-4x per week)…so I think that keeps me from gaining, but…I definitely need a new eating approach! To be continued! 

Upcoming: Headed to a CBT Weight Loss Class for therapists at BU. Hopefully that’ll give me new ideas for my clients and myself!

Till tmw,

-Lo

2 thoughts on “50 Pounds Down…..

Leave a Reply

