Homemade Coffee

Homemade Coffee
My favorite coffee making materials! As times goes on, as much as I love buying my coffee out, it is undeniably more affordable and takes less time to make homemade coffee. It’s important to have reusable thermos’s and cups in order to help your process in the morning and to use less paper, etc. With all my crafting, writing, law school, and work, I’m guilty of consuming a tree or two a year and don’t need to contribute to anymore waste.
Nespresso 
Pros: This will get you going with a singular pod or two. My caffeine baseline is having about 5-8 cups of coffee daily but the shots of espresso help me get going without having to consume so much coffee! I can have a quick cappuccino or impress guests or my neighbors with a quick cappuccino that looks like it’s from a true coffee shop.
Cons: The machine itself is expensive. And if you’re going to spend so much money on the espressos make you might as well buy the one that simultaneously foams milk.  A lot of reviews discuss the milk not being ‘foamy’ enough but you need to give the milk time in order to be able to foam up in the machine! Another con is you really can’t make a flavored Nespresso but if you want to go wild you can invest in some syrups from Starbucks. But by the time you add the pod+syrup+milk you likely are only saving a bit of money. I recommend this mainly if you are hope all day and a heavy coffee consumer that is looking for more than 1 espresso or latte daily.

Keurig Coffee Maker
Pros:I think this is best for the everyday consumer, office, business, big family, etc. You can make multiple flavors of coffee and can get the pods on ‘clearance’ (I just bought 60 pods for $7.99 at Bed, Bath and Beyond…albeit I’ll be drinking pumpkin spice coffees in July). It’s boosts morale and ‘gets the job done’. Cons:  Unfortunately, for a heavy caffeine consumer like myself you need to have a few of these. Similarly, I don’t think they have mastered hot chocolates and/or iced drinks. The iced drinks consistently taste watery and you cannot beat homemade or chain stores iced coffee. Furthermore, the hot chocolates are weak and hardly taste chocolatey. I also use this machine in a ‘pinch’ for hot water for tea or swiss miss packs and just don’t put a pod in the machine and voila, tea or swiss miss made!

Ceramic coffee mug
$9.17 – chapters.indigo.ca

Following up: I’m hoping to try this recipe this weekend, but am lacking the coffee grinder, coffee strainer but plan on using cheese cloth to try it! http://www.kitchentreaty.com/how-to-make-cold-brewed-iced-coffee-concentrate/
Leave a Reply

